Lace Front Wig

Today was our lace front wig assessment. I’ve had a really bad cold these past few days so this morning I had a bit of a battle getting going, but I did, so that’s good. I think turning up is probably the most important thing on any job and I try to make sure I can on assessment days too.

At course most of the lace on the lace-fronted wigs are the wrong colour for white girls (which most of us are – very!), and the only wig light enough is also the most difficult to work with. I was talking to my tutor about it because I insist on getting decent photos of everything (because otherwise what’s the point?), and she thought I was up to the challenge of using the french lace wig.

The wigs are attached using spirit gum as an adhesive to stick the lace part around the edge of the face, and pinning the rest to braided hair underneath. It looks closer to real hair because the edges appear to be growing from the skin rather than having to be hidden under bulky fringes. Seriously has anyone else noticed how terrible wig fringes can be?

I’m really glad it turned out so nicely despite my illness, you can hardly see the lace in the photos and my slap-dash styling worked really well. Thanks very much to Marian for modeling for me!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a comment